The School's History
At St Clement Danes children take their place in the history books of a school founded more than 300 years ago. Our small, friendly school in the heart of Covent Garden is quite literally steeped in history!
The school was founded in 1700. It now occupies a fine Victorian building in Drury Lane in the City of Westminster.
The site and the building are owned by the St. Clement Danes Educational Foundation, which provides invaluable support and assistance to the School. The Church of St Mary-le-Strand is the school’s Parish Church. The school also has links with the churches of St Clement Danes and St Paul’s Covent Garden.
Click below to read our school history book, which provides a fascinating overview of the school's unique history.
St Clement Danes Primary School is divided into four houses:
- Pennington House (blue)
- Lynch House (yellow)
- Exeter House (green)
- Twining House (red)
Each child is assigned to a House. Each house has two House Captains from Year 6. Siblings are placed together in the same house as their brothers/sisters. Inter-house competitions take place on Sports Day and 'house points' are awarded throughout the school year.
Our four houses take their names from the school's fascinating history. Click the link below to find out more: